I’m afraid of the future

The unknown will always be a source of fear for humans.  I’m not sure why but it does seem to be a pretty good constant in our psychology.  Everyone experiences fear, everyone.  We simply just react differently.  Most people will shrink/run away from it.  I am no exception for that in many respects.

Yet if it’s something new that I am learning (unknown) I am open and eager to understand and add to my knowledge.  But when it comes to other humans, especially the opposite sex, I simply have no clear understanding on how they will react to my thoughts/actions.  I know that part of the reason there is fear is because our society has lost it’s way in passing wisdom from elders to the young generation.  In the perfect world, I would have learned from a parent how to deal properly with the opposite sex.  Instead kids learn from their own insecure parents treat each other, or some idealistic video/movie.  There are some cultures that take this to heart and if you aren’t rich, the chick won’t ever talk to you.  Materialism at it’s finest there.

So I am at a cross-roads in my life where a major change is about to happen.  I can see it coming and to be honest, that doesn’t make it easier.  It means that I have to consciously deal with it and wrestle it to the best of my ability to get through it with the least amount of mental/emotional damage (collateral or otherwise).  These are the hardest lessons to learn but ones with the most rewards.

There is a certain excitement in change for me.  Travelling around the world, learning some new technological idea, finding a new group of friends, all of these excite me to no end.  This is why it probably confuses alien races.  How can a human be perfectly ‘gung-ho’ about one thing but shrink in absolute terror of another?  Typically when it relates to another human?

I’ll take this change in my life.  Fear and all.  Even fewer people will understand this change as it will be bigger than the last big change in my life.  I am afraid but I also know that I trust others who have more experience in this area of fear.  The otherside is much better once the journey through fear is done.

Frank Herbert coined the best wording in this matter in his book Dune.

LITANY AGAINST FEAR
I must not fear.
Fear is the mind-killer.
Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration.
I will face my fear.
I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path.
Where the fear has gone there will be nothing.
Only I will remain.

Leave a Reply

