The highest good

How many of you have sacrificed your spiritual growth under the banner of “I don’t want to hurt him/her”?  Were you making a True choice our were you too afraid of making a choice that was for your higher good?  Do not confuse this with “the greater good”.  That just means for humanity at large.  The “higher good” is for your own growth and not that of others, it is personal.

My own mother sacrificed so much for what she trained herself to believe was for the good of the family.  Mostly because of some irrational fear and immaturity on the part of my father. To this day, she does not have any friends she goes out to see.  No one calls her just to talk with her about life.  She had embedded everything she does with family only.  While that can be considered admirable, I want you to sit there and tell me that’s healthy for your soul.  Can you even conceive of not having anyone to talk to outside of your family? What does that teach your kids?  They say that your kids either grow up just like you our completely opposite.  In thus respect, I am completely opposite.  I have friends all over the world. Many who would do anything if I asked them.

My mother had sacrificed a good career just because of my father’s insecurity. This is something I refuse to do.  I will not let anyone stand in my way of my personal growth. This includes breaking relationships that are doing nothing but holding me back.  We all do this, yet for some reason if you say you at leaving your marriage, everyone wants to give you advice on how to keep it.  Well, everyone except those who don’t like your significant other that is.

This change is for my higher good. It is not rash. It is not even a sudden decision, although many will think so but only because they at not “in the loop” of events that have transpired. 7 years is a long time to carry around mistrust and resentment.  The mistrust stated off huge after the cheating was discovered but it eventually died down to a mild case of paranoia.  Hmmm, not really paranoid but just…..a low level of distrust.  The resentment has been growing in a near linear line.  I have had to control my outbursts in reaction to something my partner had done/said.  It’s greeting harder to do and if anything else, that is a sign in of itself things need to change.

4 thoughts on “The highest good

  1. You may bring people to you like that because you may still have doubts and fears. It’s OK if you do. Acknowledge them and then let them go. Everyone is a teacher for you. Thank your mother for showing you exactly what you do NOT want in life. Because of her, you have chosen a better life. Trust yourself, you already know the answers.

  2. I think many people among older generations were conditioned to thinking like this. Especially where I’m from, it’s crazy how people think that their own happiness is worth giving up- all the time. Interesting post, thanks for writing it- made me think about a lot of things that helped reiterate my decision.

    • Glad to be of service. *bows*

      I think that maybe at one point, this way of thinking was a necessity. There has been a lot of change and what such people can’t grasp is our ability to choose what we will do instead of being dictated by circumstances. You’ll never see me working at a factory for 30+ years and retire to simply waste away watching TV shows in my native tongue.

      And great minds think alike 🙂

Leave a Reply

