Life moves pretty quick…

“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in awhile, you could miss it.” – Ferris Bueller

That single quote would be one of the major reasons I am getting out of my current relationship.  My partner simply does NOT look around at all.  Their observation of the world around is pretty minimal.  Not only do they completely miss how I am being treated they are also missing the other signs of how wrong things are going.  This means it will be an utter surprise when I say “It’s over”.  I’m also pretty sure said person will never truly understand why.

There is not much more important than the ability to be aware of your surroundings.  This includes how your mind thinks, how other people act and how things start happening to you.  When your significant other starts to kiss you less and less on the lips….when they start enjoying more ‘time alone’….you might want to take that as a sign.  When more and more ‘random’ people start wanting to talk to you because they are obviously interested, you might want to be aware and understand why this is happening.

This applies to more than just relationships of course.  You simple need to both be aware of what is going on as well as being detached.  If you get all tangled up in the emotions of the moment, it will do you no good to react that way.  Most likely it’ll make things worse.  Even when you do make reasonably detached decisions, don’t let the emotions wallow you down and ruin that choice.  No regrets.  They are wasteful.

2 thoughts on “Life moves pretty quick…

  1. My partner sort of saw the signs but was in denial I think. The hardest part is when people aren’t aware, when they lack the perception to see what’s coming. Because that self-awareness comes naturally to some, and it is completely missing in others!

    • Yes! It will be an absolute to my partner. I Can only hope they get over it quickly and be able to move on. I don’t plan on dwelling on that though. Got my own stuff to work on. Seeing add the next person I’m talking to is pretty self-aware, my prayers are in that awareness being stronger than any fears that are floating around.

Leave a Reply

