The past

Recently some people offered to buy something if mine that I made way back when I was 12 years old. It was a simple wooden table. Obviously it is pretty sturdy and I did a decent job on joining the wood and inkaying a lighter centre section.  Everyone had to take a shop class back then.

Since I’ve had this thing for ages, there was an obvious emotional attachment to it.  Would like to keep it just because but then I thought real hard.  I am in such a forward moving state, is holding onto something from my past a good idea?  Does it help me grow or keep me looking back?  Would giving it to someone else help them look forward?  You know, if something I made can make someone else happy, who am I to stand in the way?  Sure I’m proud that I have made something that has lasted, yet I will not let it stop me and I can always make another if I choose.  Will probably be an improvement too.

So new owner, enjoy the table of my past.  May it bring you much joy and utility as I have gained from it.  I no longer need it.

Now, my ratty old teddy bear with a wind-up “twinkle twinkle little stars” music box inside it and some newspaper stuffing, is a whole other ball game! 😉

Leave a Reply

