I’m a WYSIWYG type of person

I know of a term in computers called WYSIWYG.  Its an acronym for “what you see is what you get”.  Basically when someone designs a program or website, the application used to design it shows you the final product as you go along.  There is no fancy need to “compile” the thing, your design is instant.  It is like the difference between using a keyboard to type “draw a square” versus a mouse to actually draw the square.  I’m like the latter.

While I try my best to follow my intuition and inspiration, I do prefer non-subtle ways of communication.  Yet I know that is purely a fear-based habit.  I’m afraid if being/interpreting things wrongly.  Its easy to do so because we are humans.  We have a problem with both communicating properly as weell as processing information without bias. There is also the ever-present over-thinking that is usually the culprit.  “Why did he do that?  Was it because of ‘x’ or ‘y’?” Which leads to a billion other questions which you can’t possibly answer and get bogged down with “paralysis by analysis” and never get anywhere.

This makes life rather oddly difficult for those if us who are open, honest and mean exactly what they say.  Why? Because so many others do not that everyone thinks you are trying to hide your true intentions because that is what they do.  What an ironic twist of fate huh?

What I also know is that few people can handle those who are truly open an honest.  To use a tired quote-cliche “You can’t handle the truth!”.  If you are someone bogged down by your own mis-guided thoughts/choose to believe others instead of your self, when someone comes along and shines a light on it, it is like being in the dark and someone turning a flashlight on right at your eyeballs.  It is quite painful and our minds are designed to avoid pain.  If you are like most people, you do everything you can to avoid that pain.  If you are one of the few who look toward finding a way to grow spiritually, then you deal with the pain and understand that the light you see is truly beneficial to your world.

I try my best to be a better person, to learn from many people/ideas.  Do I know better than anyone else?  Not necessarily.  I can only offer my experiences and wisdom that I have gained in my years of searching and pattern recognition of non-helpful behaviors.  Take from my writings what serves you best, everything else, ignore.

4 thoughts on “I’m a WYSIWYG type of person

  1. I’m like this too, though in a way it’s different because I’m just very transparent. Easily read. But I like WYSIWYG people. It’s so much easier to get along with people who are straightforward and say what they think. I’d much rather be around people like this than people who I can’t read.

Leave a Reply

